All reviews

By Richard C. (New York, United States) on 10 Oct. 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes robcantleyi x hamata

Shipped as described this was a nice large plant

I am pretty critical when it comes to orchids and exotic plants. This plant is beautiful and was perfectly packed. The pitchers were tucked into the pot, Everything was sealed and another basket was used to cover the entire plant. Beautiful plant, impressive shipping! Some masking tape was use to mark where pitchers were along with instructions on how to unwrap the baskets without damaging the plant. Please check your wish list. Thank You

 Report abuse

By Erik A. (Sabastopol, United States) on 10 Oct. 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : N. aristolochioides (seed grown)

Basal was very large and perfect

I have had trouble with Aristo's in the past. It was shipped in a 10" basket. Growth was very slow until this fall when the undeveloped pitcher all began to pitcher. My plant was clearly a clone or basal. The third pitcher was very big and looks like these pictures. Slow grower but when pirchering begins, they formed really fast. Thanks Again

 Report abuse

By Erik A. (Sabastopol, United States) on 10 Oct. 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Robcantleyi

Thank's Again , Perfect Rob Basket :D

Plant was not the one pictured. It might have been larger but as it was a solid 14" Rob in a 12 in basket. Nice airy soil, loaded with Kanumu. Shipping took a week but was well worth it. The Robmata was much larger than expected.

 Report abuse

By Anthony D. (Bentonville, United States) on 23 July 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Utricularia Longifolia

Gorgeous and easy

U. longifolia is a vigorous, at times weedy, bladderwort that can easily overtake slower plants. I wouldn't recommend this species in a mixed pot or terrarium. It didn't flower for me for a long time after I got it but, once it started, it has flowered prolifically! This is a great beginner species!

 Report abuse

By Anthony D. (Bentonville, United States) on 23 July 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Fusca

Great species!

This is a charming plant and was one of the first Nepenthes species I ever started growing. It arrived well-packed and in great health and has continued to do well for me.

 Report abuse

By Anthony D. (Bentonville, United States) on 23 July 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Maxima Wavy

Great species!

This was one of my first Nepenthes species. It arrived healthy and well-packed. After a little adjustment time, it has grown vigorously. It is still too small for the "wavy" leaves to be expressed but I'm really looking forward to them!

 Report abuse

By Noah L. on 25 June 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Bicalcarata

This is the one!

Out of all the Nepenthes I've ever seen, this one is the most amazing! The fangs really personify how menacing this plant really is. If only bugs could read the writing on the wall, they would stay far away from this beautifully formed Nepenthes.

 Report abuse

By Alessandra S. (Fanwood, United States) on 04 May 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Drosera Adelae

Beautiful

Just rewceivws this in the mail today. It is so beautiful and perfectly packaged so it arrived undamaged. Will buy from here again.

 Report abuse

By Sean G. (Shamong, United States) on 29 March 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Alien Venus Flytrap

Awesome Plant

Shipping took a bit longer than what seems to be "normal". Plant arrived a little rough but has since made a nice recovery and is pumping out new traps. I'm very pleased to have finally found this plant at a price that's pretty much less than half of all the other guys prices. Decent sized plant for the price as well. If your thinking about buying this Flytrap, do it!

 Report abuse

By Greg S. (Durham, United States) on 09 March 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Drosophyllum

Thanks Again!

Last year my Dewy grew out about 10-12 inches... Thanks Again

 Report abuse

By Chris W. (Lutz, United States) on 17 Feb. 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Macrophylla

Nepenthes Macrophylla

Incredibly nice plant and worth every bit! Everything about it came as described and I must say the huge pitcher it has is very beautiful! It was packaged/protected very well and came in a timely manner. Thank you guys so much, I'm very grateful and will be returning my business to you in the future! :)

 Report abuse

By Brendan K. (Portland, United States) on 03 Feb. 2018 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Jamban

So Far So Good

It's already produced a pitcher. Thanks.

 Report abuse

By Brendan K. (Portland, United States) on 03 Feb. 2018 :
(3/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Maxima Wavy

Very Small, Eventually Died

This plant was perhaps half the size of the plant in the photos (which is already quite young), if that. I can't blame Southbay for its eventual death as it at least survived for a few months, but I wish it would have been a bigger and more robust plant. I am an attentive grower with good highland conditions so I'm pretty sure its death was out of my control. I was looking forward to watching this plant grow...

 Report abuse

By Antonio F. D. (Spring Hill, United States) on 29 Nov. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Carnivorous Windowsill Gift Set

Windowsill gift set

THe plants I received looked GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They look like they are in summer growth. I ordered a gift set from another grower and I was really disappointed in the product I received. I will not hesitate to order from you again!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The packing was great and the plants were very well protected.
Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5STAR +
Tony

 Report abuse

By Joshua T. (Wheatfield, United States) on 21 Nov. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Palawanensis

Little gem

Just arrived yesterday afternoon; packaged well, & healthy. VERY small, but off to a great start, already with a pitcher. Looking forward to watching it grow!

 Report abuse

By Serina H. (Rural Hall, United States) on 16 Oct. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Drosera Esterhuyseniae

I LOVE IT!

Shipping was really fast and everything was packaged securely. The plant came in great condition with virtually no damage at all.

 Report abuse

By Trenton H. (Middletown, United States) on 14 Sept. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : SouthBayTraps Standard Venus Flytrap

Absolutely Amazing.

Where to begin.. To put it simply, this trap saved my life. I have been going through diagnosed chronic depression for 13 years, every day I would wake up to a hellish world; I had no motivation, or drive to push me through my terrible life and the harsh abuse of high school. That is, until I discovered this website, and purchased this trap. I named him Reggie and our relationship grew as fast as he physically grew. I abandoned my family and the little amount of friends i had. This plant is all I need now. Very Satisfied.

 Report abuse

By nicole W. (Skiatook, United States) on 05 Sept. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : King Henry

Great Plant

My King Henry arrived quickly and had three pretty massive traps. I've only had it for a week and already three new traps are forming! Highly recommended!

 Report abuse

By Mike H. (Scio, United States) on 14 Aug. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Sanguinea

Received in grat condition

I received this Nepenthes Sanguinea in great condition (packed well) in just 6 business days.

 Report abuse

By Morgan A. (Carlsbad , United States) on 11 Aug. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Drosera Venusta


 Report abuse

By Barbara T. (Benham, United States) on 09 Aug. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Triffid Traps

My triffid trap

I love this plant! It so pretty with the red and green!! Thank you so much and very fast shipping!! I'll be ordering a few more from you all in the next couple of days!! I couldn't be happier with my plant! Thanks so very much!
Sincerely,

Sandy Thomas, Benham, Ky

 Report abuse

By Marlena O. (Orlando, United States) on 14 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Maxima Wavy

Fast little plant

I'm very excited for my wavy maxima, he's a little smaller then I was expecting, since at the time I order it had a different picture up (the photo up now is more accurate of the look and size,) but it has been growing so fast, it's really neat to get small plants and watch them grow. Sounds silly but there's so much satisfaction in seeing them double in size. Lovely little guy, can't wait till he starts showing his true colors!

 Report abuse

By Marlena O. (Orlando, United States) on 14 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Drosera Andromeda

Incredible Drosera

The plant I recieved met and went above expectations. It regained its dew the next day after opening and has been flowering non-stop since I got it this spring. It's so big beautiful. And it's so happy in the conditions I have, so I couldn't be more happy.

 Report abuse

By chris H. (San diego, United States) on 13 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Carnivorous Plant Fertilizer

Maxsea fertilizer

I just received my package in the mail today. Package arrived quickly and plants were packed awesomely.
This is great that you can purchase this smal quantity from southbay traps. I just made a gallon of fertilizer and it barely made a dent in the jar of fertilizer. This will last a long time if only using 1/4 tsp for carnivorous plants. Ill probably give it to my orchids and other plants as well!

 Report abuse

By Quinton T. (Orlando, United States) on 03 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Glabrata (from seed)

Just a wee lad...

... but with some love, it'll grow! Perfect size for me!

 Report abuse

By Quinton T. (Orlando, United States) on 03 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Bellii

Nice plant

Great addition to my CP plants. Received in perfect condition! I can't wait to see it mature more and get some nice pitchers .

 Report abuse

By Quinton T. (Orlando, United States) on 03 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Gymnamphora

Healthy plant

The packaging was outstanding and the plant came in perfect condition with some nice looking pitchers. Thanks for the happy and healthy plant !!!

 Report abuse

By Howard M. (Davis, United States) on 28 June 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Burbidgeae

Great sized plant

The plant I received was not only healthy but also of a decent size. The leaves had even been pushed back into the pot in order for it to fit during shipping! The plant was about four inches across and the pitcher it came with was almost two inches tall.

 Report abuse

By Kenneth C. (Maryville, United States) on 22 June 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Gymnamphora

Great plant

Honestly the easiest grower I have in my highland collection. With not much info to care I placed it in generic highland conditions and mine has been growing like a weed! Plant came in with many pitchers and was very healthy. Highly recommended to purchase.

 Report abuse

By David K. (Hollywood, United States) on 21 June 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Truncata

Nice grower!

Have had this plant for a few months and it's growing really well. Arrived healthy and had no adjustment problems to growing outdoors in Miami.

 Report abuse

By Shannon P. (Summerfield , United States) on 19 June 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Sanguinea

Happy plant, Happy plant parent.

This plant was packaged VERY well and arrived in amazing condition. It was larger then I thought it would be. It is already putting out a new leaf and I've only had it for about a week. I'm very happy with my purchase and I will order from you guys again, THANKS!

 Report abuse

By Shannon P. (Summerfield , United States) on 14 June 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Maxima Wavy

AMAZING!

I ordered this plant about a week ago. I could not pick them up at the post office for almost a week though because I was very busy. When I did pick them, I was afraid they were going to be dead, but no! they were alive and healthy! The plants were well packaged and very secure. I'm very happy with my purchase and I will be ordering from you guys again.

Thank you
Shannon

 Report abuse

By Howard M. (Davis, United States) on 23 May 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Leonardoi

Decent sized plant

The plant was shipped in a timely manner and was of the size described. I thought it would have more pitchers but there was just one buried in the live sphagnum. Still, it was a healthy plant.

 Report abuse

By Kenneth C. (Maryville, United States) on 22 May 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : N. aristo x hamata

Amazing!

Plant came in very healthy! So far growing very easy in intermediate conditions. Plant sent had 4 good sized pitchers.

 Report abuse

By Frank M. (Alhambra, United States) on 20 May 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Sanguinea

Very Satisfied

The plant arrived securely and in good condition -- it's been a little over two weeks and it has already put out new leaves and pitchers! I'll likely be ordering again!

 Report abuse

By Howard M. (Davis, United States) on 16 May 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Ephippiata

Small but healthy plant

I purchased this item and received a plant a little less than an inch across. It was packed well and the plant was very healthy. It is a slow grower but definitely worth it.

 Report abuse

By Sebastian G. (Fresno, United States) on 03 May 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Alien Venus Flytrap

Great Alien flytrap

Great Alien flytrap exactly as the picture in size and potted! Thank you guys!

 Report abuse

By Al W. (Harrisburg, United States) on 26 Apr. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : B52 Venus Flytrap

WOW great delivery time and the plant is in excellent condition

You guys are the best, I've also followed your growing tips by using Distilled water in place of the chlorinated tap water.
I'll send you pictures as they grow.
Thanks again for your wonderful Service and excellent plants.
With Regards,
AL

 Report abuse

By Jeffrey D. (Brackenridge, United States) on 22 Apr. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : DCXL x Dracula

Excellent again!!

I've ordered this trap after my first beautiful trap come in and this one took a little longer to get only because he had a huge order to ship out which when I contacted him he had explained that which I told him it was understandable but he went out of his way to package my order and ship it immediately. Now that's excellent service and I'm thankful for it. These guys are great at what they do and satisfaction is a guarantee purchasing from south bay traps. I will continue ordering from them in the future.

 Report abuse

By Jeffrey D. (Brackenridge, United States) on 22 Apr. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Dracula x B52

Excellent

I'll tell you now these guys know what they're doing. I got this plant and ordered another after receiving it. These plants are so healthy and are stunning. The shipping was super fast and the way they were packaged to avoid damage was professionally done. I will most definitely continue ordering from south bay traps in the future. They are no doubt grade A.

 Report abuse

By Charles J. on 10 Apr. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Utricularia Sandersonii Blue

Underwater?

Hello- I'm a planted tank enthusiast, and I was wondering if this plant could survive underwater, like its cousin graminifolia

 Report abuse

By Thomas W. (Battleboro, United States) on 26 March 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Izumiae

pretty little plant

got here quickly and was well packaged and healthy upon arrival.

 Report abuse

By Domonick D. (Westland, United States) on 23 March 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Dracula x B52

Dracula x b52

Such a beautiful venus flytrap.... you can tell they love there plants ......

 Report abuse

By Domonick D. (Westland, United States) on 21 March 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : New Venus Fly Traps

Dracula x b52

Just want to say im very happy with my order.. and you can tell you love your plants and treat them with love.....

 Report abuse

By Jacob H. (Moorhead, United States) on 11 Feb. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Nepenthes Rajah

Jake H - Rajah Seedling

You won't find a place with a better price on seedling N. rajahs. I received a very healthy little seedling with a nice topdressing of vibrant live sphagnum. The media they use (perlite, LFS, Kanuma) is perfect for more high elevation species like Rajah, that like more open mixes. In total, they know what their doing in terms of nepenthes care, highly recommended!

 Report abuse

By Maxim D. (Park Ridge, United States) on 07 Dec. 2016 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Drosera Andromeda

Great sundew! Thanks!

The plant I received was very large and robust, resuming growth a few days after shipment in late November. It has multiple division starting at the base and is growing a flower stalk this week. I've been looking for the Andromeda hybrid for a few years, and I'm glad to see them available regularly here and at a good price. Thanks!

 Report abuse

By Esteban S. (San Diego , United States) on 17 Sept. 2016 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Red Piranha

Beautiful vft

Really one of my favorites, it came really well packaged and protected, most traps were red alredy with a little green in them, also awesome texture, definitely one of my favorites

 Report abuse

By Gagan R. (Carson, United States) on 07 Sept. 2016 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Shark's Teeth

Another Great Fly Trap

My Shark's Teeth arrived small as pictured, very colorful and there were a few sundews growing in the same pot which bumps my rating up to a 5 Star. Can't wait to see it next season :D

 Report abuse

By Esteban S. (San Diego , United States) on 02 Sept. 2016 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : B52 Venus Flytrap

B-52 VFT

I ordered some VFT from 3 different online stores. Southbay was the fastest and most efficiently packed of the 3 and the B-52 was big and beautiful, the only thing I regret is not getting them all from here.

 Report abuse

By John H. (Lakewood, United States) on 16 Aug. 2016 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Heliamphora Minor "Big Orange"

Heliamphora 'Big Orange' Review

The coloration of this individual is delicately beautiful. Each new pitcher is ever more pleasing to watch grow.
The medium and the potting used here is of very good quality.

 Report abuse